SWVA to SWUSA

I always thought I’d be a Virginia girl my whole life.  I love it here, I’ve got roots and growth here.  The dearest of friends, the most precious family.  So when it turned that I’d be an Arizona girl next year, it was hella weird.  I ain’t ever been to Arizona!!  All I know is: Grand Canyon, Santa Fe Clay (which is in New Mexico), Butch Cassidy, and cliff dwellings.  And a four-day drive.

But moving to Arizona for a year is an adventure brought by Jesus.  There is no other way I would have chosen to go there except under His motivation.  That’s how I know that my year at Lost Canyon Young Life camp is gonna be crazy and good.  Excited, terrified, intrigued, excited, freaking out. Those emotions, not necessarily in that order.

I am so grateful for this time that I have now in Salem.  If I had left any earlier, I would have been running away, but now I know that I can leave well.  It’s been cool to see how Jesus has led me back to pretty much all the things that were major parts of my time here.  He’s been reminding me of where I’ve been so I can go where He’s taking me.

“Home” to me had always been Salem, VA.  Even when I was at school, it was a familiar and place that I loved, but never with that depth that ‘home’ brings.  But as I face the leaving of my VA home with the prospect of perhaps not moving back here, I’m beginning to realize that Home is not even on Earth.  It is of my strongest belief that this world is not “it” and that God is building HIs Kingdom here NOW and will bring it to completion.  So really, Home is when and where :

No longer will violence be heard in your land,
    nor ruin or destruction within your borders,
but you will call your walls Salvation
    and your gates Praise.
19 The sun will no more be your light by day,
    nor will the brightness of the moon shine on you,
for the Lord will be your everlasting light,
    and your God will be your glory.” Isaiah 60:18-19

Home is fullness and completion in God’s Kingdom.  Which can be geographically anywhere.  Home is in SWVA and SWUSA.

PS. I realized it might be easier for folks if I provided a link for donating to my time in AZ next year.  Just click on my picture, and proceed apace!  This link here!!!

Leave a Reply

