Taking Up Space

This morning at my internship I’m making Excel documents.  And thinking about taking up space.  One of my YoungLife leaders Lauryn said the other day that “YoungLife is not a ministry for warm bodies.” And today I read a blog about not “just taking up space”.  Both are saying the same thing.  If you’re gonna be here, wherever ‘here’ may be [summer job, internships, ministry, school…] do something with the space you occupy.

We went out to Thai food for lunch today with some gals from the museum where I’m interning.  They’re so fun.  And sitting back here at my progressing Excel document, I realized that I may feel like I’m just taking up space and biding my time here in Salem, VA this summer, but the building of relationships over lunch and the building of my relationship with my Creator is what my space is being used for.

Sometimes the best space I can use is the silent space. Just listening. As friends talk of school and sports and friends and weights on their chests.  I know for me at least, I don’t always want your input right away. I just want you to listen to me.

Avett Brothers (love em) have this song  called “The Perfect Space”:

I wanna have friends that I can trust,
that love me for the man I’ve become not the man I was.
I wanna have friends that will let me be
all alone when being alone is all that I need.

I wanna fit in to the perfect space,
feel natural and safe in a volatile place.
And I wanna grow old without the pain,
give my body back to the earth and not complain.
Will you understand when I am too old of a man?
And will you forget when we have paid our debt
who did we borrow from? Who did we borrow from?

If I can be that friend that gives you space to be alone and creates, even if just for a moment, enough space for the world to fade and the Spirit step in, then I have done my duty as a friend.  But it is always a reminder to me that this terrestrial ball is not our ultimate space and home.  “If you belonged to the world, it would love you as it’s own, but I have chosen you out of the world.” John 15:19 “In this world you will have trouble, but take heart! I have overcome the world.” John 16:33

 This space is temporarily filled.

Leave a Reply

