This is a Story…

I’m not a storyteller. But I do love stories.  Especially the stories of people.

When I did Summer Staff at Rockbridge young Life Camp last summer, we told each other our stories of how we had come to know our Lord.  Everybody’s story was different.  I learned surprising things about people.  Things I never would have guessed.  Because, unlike our 6th grade yearbooks asking us not to change, we do change.  “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation: The old has gone, the new has come!” 2 Corinthians 5:17  We shared stories not necessarily of what happened to us, but of who God is shaping us to be. 

I’ve been learning how important stories are.  Learning stories.  Being a part of stories.  Recording stories.  Writing stories worth reading.

I hope to sift through my story.  Not to pick out the high-lite reel, but to pick out the important, shifting things.  I’m learning that I’m growing up.  I’ll be 21 this summer (ew) and a junior in college (ew ew).  Adulthood is catching up, and I never thought I’d be nervous about it coming.

This is a story.  Not about what I do day in and day out.  But about who I am becoming day in and day out.  

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iN9J8eqKovY

Leave a Reply

